History of CP Football

The first International CP Football competition was held in Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1978 at the third edition of the Cerebral Palsy International Games. It was at these Games, where the Cerebral Palsy International Sports and Recreation Association (CPISRA) was founded.


In 1982, the first World Championships were held at the CPISRA World Games in Denmark; and the first Regional Championships were held in Glasgow, Scotland, in 1985. 


CP Football was first included on the Paralympic programme in 1984 at the New York Paralympic Games. Belgium became the first Paralympic Champion, defeating Ireland.


Between 1988 and 1996, the Netherlands were the leading nation becoming Paralympic Champions at the Seoul 1988, Barcelona 1992 and Atlanta 1996 Paralympics Games.


Since then, Russia and Ukraine have been top of the rankings. Russia were the gold medallist at the Sydney 2000 Paralympic Games and Ukraine gold medallist at the Athens 2004 Paralympic Games defeating Brazil. Russia and Ukraine then also met in the finals in both finals of Beijing 2008 and London 2012, with Ukraine winning gold in the first final and Russia taking the gold in the second.


In October 2010, the general assembly of CPISRA adopted a motion for CP football to become an independent sport. In January 2015, the governance of CP Football was transferred from CPISRA to the new governing body, the International Federation of Cerebral Palsy Football.


2015 also saw the inaugral IFCPF CP Football World Championships U19 take place at the CPISRA World Games in Nottingham, England, with 7 teams from 3 IPC regions.


The performance now being shown by many countries, through excellent coaching and training, have seen a levelling out in the competitive ability of many of the countries now taking part.

World Championships Winner Runner up Third place
1982 Denmark, Greve Ireland Netherlands Belgium
1986 Belgium, Gits Netherlands Belgium Ireland
1990 Netherlands, Assen Netherlands Ireland Belgium
1994 Ireland, Dublin Netherlands Ireland Belgium
1998 Brazil, Rio de Janeiro Russia Ukraine Brazil
2003 Argentina, Buenos Aires Ukraine Brazil Russia
2007 Brazil, Rio de Janeiro Russia Iran Ukraine
2011 Netherlands, Assen, Emmen and Hoogeveen Russia Iran Ukraine
2015 England, Burton-upon Trent Russia Ukraine Brazil
Paralympic Games Gold Silver Bronze
1984 USA, New York Belgium Ireland Great Britain
1998 Korea, Seoul Netherlands Belgium Ireland
1992 Spain, Barcelona Netherlands Portugal Ireland
1996 USA, Atlanta Netherlands Russia Spain
2000 Australia, Sydney Russia Ukraine Brazil
2004 Greece, Athens Ukraine Brazil Russia
2008 China, Beijing Ukraine Russia Iran
2012 United Kingdom, London Russia Ukraine Iran
2016 Brazil, Rio de Janeiro Ukraine Iran Brazil