Team Blue from New South Wales victorious in Australian National Championships

Team Blue from New South Wales victorious in Australian National Championships


New South Wales have won their 15th National Championship in Australia, this year it was the Blue team from NSW that reached top honour, because for the very first time two teams of NSW participated. The 2019 National CP Football Championships were held in Australia at Valentine Sports Park in Sydney. The tournament ran over four days, with 6 teams competing from different states – with the exception of New South Wales fielding two teams for the first time.

For the very first time in this competition we had five females participate and almost all of them, except one who is a goalkeeper, scoring goals. Georgia Beikoff from NSW White became the first female in the competition to not only score the first goal by a female player but ending up scoring four goals within the same game. Georgia also became the first player to be awarded the Female Player of the Tournament. The teams played each other once across three days before a finals series on the last day.

New South Wales Blue were crowned champions, with a New South Wales Team winning their 15th National Championships (11 consecutive Championships). Western Australia made the final to finish second, whilst New South Wales White claimed the bronze medal. The final was also streamed on Facebook live with 5,000 people viewing it online from across the country.

The tournament award winners were as follows:

Golden Boot: Connor Bunce (Western Australia) with 14 goals
Goalkeeper of the Tournament: Jared Eiby (Western Australia)
Young Player of the Tournament: Evan Moorby (Capital Football)
FT1 Player of the Tournament: Christopher Pyne (New South Wales Blue)
FT2 Player of the Tournament: Timothy Blowes (New South Wales White)
FT3 Player of the Tournament: Jeremy Boyce (New South Wales Blue)
Female Player of the Tournament: Georgia Beikoff (New South Wales White)
Gold Medal MVP: Daniel Campbell (New South Wales Blue)