Excitement builds with final tournament preparations looming

Excitement builds with final tournament preparations looming


One month to go: The 2016 IFCPF World Championship Qualification Tournament in Vejen, Denmark will kick-off on July 29. The home team will play Canada in the opening match.


Summer has arrived, the schedule has been finalized and the 13 teams have confirmed their players for the 2016 IFCPF World Championships Qualification Tournament. Only the final preparations remain before more than 250 players and staff arrive in Vejen, and things are looking good according to IFCPF Technical Director Tom Langen.

"The Local organizing committee under the leadership of Lykke Guldbrandt has done an excellent job until now. The LOC shows a high level of professionalism and knows how to combine it with flexibility. IFCPF is looking forward to an excellent tournament" he said.


Tournament Director Lykke Guldbrandt from the Danish Sports Organization for the Disabled is eager to wrap up the preparations and get the action underway.

"After many months of hard work, it is great to be in the final stretch of our preparations. We will spend the next month finalizing the smaller details and making sure that our many guests are as comfortable as possible during their stay. We can’t wait to welcome everyone to Vejen" said Lykke Guldbrandt.


The tournament in Vejen will determine which teams qualify for the 2017 IFCPF World Championships in Argentina. It is the first time in the history of CP football, that a qualification tournament takes place without the top eight (8) countries in the world taking part.


"The battle for the remaining eight slots for the next year’s World Championships is a great challenge for every country and all the participating teams are very competitive. The IFCPF expects close and exciting matches both during and after the group stage, and we wish every country success in achieving a qualification slot"  said Tom Langen.


Teams will arrive in Vejen, Denmark on July 26 with the opening ceremony and first two matches following on July 29.