Asia-Oceania Champions

Asia-Oceania Champions


Women's Tournament



Women's Final Summary

The CommBank ParaMatildas defeated Japan 2-0 in the final of the 2023 IFCPF Asia-Oceania Championships to become the champions of Asia and Oceania.

CommBank ParaMatildas 2 - 0 Japan

Goalscorers: Nicole Christodoulou (21'), Georgia Beikoff (27')

The CommBank ParaMatildas were too strong in the end for Japan, who put in a fantastic performance against the home side.

Japan had the better of the opportunities in the first 10 minutes or so of the game, with Australian goalkeeper Katelyn Smith forced into making several fantastic saves. However, it was Nicole Christodoulou who opened the scoring, the Player of the Tournament capitalising on a rebound to give her side the lead.

Golden Boot winner Georgia Beikoff scored early in the second half to double Australia's lead. Japan continued to come forward in hopes of a goal of their own but Australia were stout in defence - led by Tahlia Blanshard, who was awarded Player of the Match.

Individual Awards

  • Golden Glove: Katelyn Smith (AUS)
  • Golden Boot: Georgia Beikoff, 5 goals (AUS)
  • Player of the Tournament: Nicole Christodoulou (AUS)

Men's Tournament



Iran took out gold, the CommBank Pararoos finished second, and Japan finished third at the 2023 IFCPF Asia-Oceania Championships.


Men's Final: Iran 2 - 0 CommBank Pararoos

Goalscorers: 7. Moslem Mehrabian (19'), 10. Abbas Torabi (38')

The CommBank Pararoos fought like lions in front of their home crowd but in the end, Iran were too strong.

A wonderfully worked goal scored by Moslem Mehrabian in the first half opened the scoring. They could have scored more if not for some fantastic saves from Australian goalkeeper David Barber, and desperate defensive work from the CommBank Pararoos.

An Abbas Torabi header in the second-half sealed it for Iran. It was a professional performance from the world no3 side, and they thoroughly deserved their victory.


Men's Third Place Play-Off: Thailand 0 - 3 Japan

Goalscorers: Toda Tetsuya (27'), Hiroto Kageyama (60+1'), Tatsuhiro Ura (60+4').

This promised to be an even game and that certainly proved to be the case, with Japan not secure in the result until goals in stoppage time secured the result.

A first-half goal from Toda Tetsuya opened the scoring for the team in blue. Thailand pushed forward in search of an equaliser but eventually stretched themselves too far, leading to the late goals for Japan.

While Thailand will be disappointed to finish the tournament without a medal, both teams were fantastic throughout, and it showed in the even contest.

Individual Awards

  • Golden Glove: Vahid Navvab (IRI)
  • Golden Boot: Tatsuhiro Ura, 7 goals (JPN)
  • Player of the Tournament: Nimitr Kaisakaew (THA)